top of page
  • Writer's pictureauthorydeonna

Symphony of Goode Love

Updated: Mar 5, 2021


The Goode Love series erupted in my brain in 2019 when I was completing The Virtuous Trilogy. I dabbled with book one on and off for a year, and it beat my butt. I lost count of how many times I rewrote the chapters. I loved it and then I hated it. I’m not a romance writer. I have love in my books, but my genre isn’t romance. Besides, I’ve never been in love. Where do I write from? What experience do I have to create memorable characters? I did what anyone would do. I took a love journey. I read about love in the Bible. The editor advised me to watch Hallmark movies, but I did not connect with those films. They were too perfectly package and though I’ve never been in love, I know it isn’t perfect.

What I have known is toxic love, but never good love. I asked myself, why do you want to write this series. The answer was I wanted to illustrate healthy loving Black relationships. I also wanted to show how when roadblocks enter a relationship, that’s not the time to walk away, but to walk nearer to God.

There’s so much to learn from what the characters go through. As romance novels go, mine is not typical, but it’s good. The journey taught me about love, the different kinds of love, and the kind of love I want. Symphony of Goode Love challenged and enlightened me, and I hope it does the same for you. It’s currently in editing and I hope to have it ready by the end of February or March.

Love y’all Ruby Readers





5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page