top of page
  • Writer's pictureauthorydeonna

Books That Uplift Q&A

Here's a snippet, but you can follow the link for more!

You are an author, but is it your day job? If not, what does fill your days? I’m a behavioral health social worker and victim advocate.

Did you always want to be an author? No. When I was growing up, I wanted to be a doctor and then an attorney. However, I always loved writing. I just never thought of it as more than a hobby.

What is your most recent book and what inspired you to write it? I titled my most recent book Symphony of Goode Love, and it’s part of a four-book series that will follow four brothers as they navigate love. I wrote the book because I wanted to challenge myself as well as craft an inspirational love story that showcased Black love. When I write, it is to elevate, educate, and engage the reader. In this book, the characters deal with colorism, faith, grief/loss, and trauma.

How do you hope your book uplifts those who read it? I pray the book inspires readers to love, forgive and heal. Also, to embrace their unique beauty and not allow the opinions of others to dictate how they view or love themselves. Too often, we allow insignificant people to have significance in our lives, and that becomes debilitating. I want to remind everyone that what makes them different is what makes them beautiful. Everyone has the right to be loved and to be loved well.



https://booksuplift.com/author-qa-with-y-deonna/?fbclid=IwAR1ENt8CZU7nN8PWWCGbWwNaHwx_2fzECNqoELu5yLVi-BH6-YVsSCRDWo0


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page